Online Journalism Awards

The Online Journalism Awards (OJAs), launched in May 2000 to honor excellence in digital journalism around the world, are administered by the Online News Association in partnership with the University of Miami School of Communication. The OJAs are traditionally awarded on the final night of the Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet, this year held Sept. 24 at the Marriott Copley Place in Boston.

To enter, read the rules and eligibility then head to the entry forms.

Over the past decade, the OJAs have recognized major media, international and independent sites and individuals producing innovative work in multimedia storytelling. The OJA Committee and judges place special emphasis on entries that demonstrate mastery of the special characteristics and emerging technology of digital journalism. See last year’s winners here.

The finalists and the winners are selected through a new two-step process. A group of 24 industry-leading journalists and new media professionals team up in pairs of two to rank finalists in each category. In August, twelve of those judges will meet to select winners at the University of Miami under the auspices of the School of Communication in Coral Gables, Fla.

Eight awards come with a total of $33,000 in prize money, courtesy of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and the Gannett Foundation.